OskiCatNextGen Melvyl PilotCompendexINSPECPubMedWeb of ScienceOff-Campus Access
Ask Us:e-mailIMTxtphone

Guide for CE 24: Skyscrapers and the World Trade Center

Contents:

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus access to licensed library resources such as journal articles and databases requires changes in your browser's settings that allow you to connect through a proxy server.
» Instructions on setting up access

Return to top

How to Find Books

Use Melvyl to find books on your topic. The records will tell you the call number and the location (library) for each book. Try some of the examples below.

  1. Open Current Melvyl catalog.
  2. Choose Subject as the type of Search.
  3. Type world trade center new york in the search box.
  4. Choose UC Berkeley as the Library.
  5. Click Search.
  6. Click Details/Locations, and scroll down to find the call number and library where the book is located. Many books on this topic are in the Environmental Design Library.

Other searches to try:

Return to top

How to Find Articles

Use an article index to identify articles on your topic. Many are listed and linked below, but there are dozens more that could be useful, depending on the topic you are working on. Follow the UC e-Links button from the indexes to locate the full text of the articles you need, either online or get the call numbers for the printed version in the Library. In most article databases, you can check off references of interest and e-mail them to yourself so you have a record of them.

Compendex  UCB access only
For technical and scholarly engineering articles.

  1. Type world trade center in the search box, and select Title from the All Fields drop-down menu.
  2. Click Perform Search.

PubMed  UCB access only
For health and medical articles.

  1. Type world trade center in the search box.
  2. Click Go.
  3. On the results screen, change the Display from Summary to Abstracts (drop-down menu) to get the UC-eLinks button for full text.

Web of Science  UCB access only

  1. Uncheck Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index to search just the Science Citation Index, or leave them all checked to search for articles in all disciplines.
  2. Click on General Search.
  3. Type world trade center in the Topic search box.
  4. Click Search.
  5. Click on the linked title in each record to see an abstract. If an article looks particularly good for your topic, click Related Records to find other articles that have references in common.

For articles in general interest magazines and newspapers, search the following article databases:

Academic Search Complete  UCB access only

  1. Type "leslie robertson" in the box.
  2. Click Search.

Readers Guide Retrospective 1890-1982  UCB access only
For historical articles

  1. Type world trade center in the box.
  2. Other searches: buildings.
  3. Click Search now.

Lexis-Nexis  UCB access only

  1. Select General News.
  2. Select Magazines & Journals.
  3. Type "leslie robertson" in the box (or try "leslie e robertson").
  4. Change date to All available years.
  5. Click Search.

Do the same search in Major Papers (Step 2) for newspaper articles.

Architecture Topics

For more help with architectural topics, ask the Librarians at the Environmental Design Library, 210 Wurster Hall.

Historical topics

Articles indexes that cover historical engineering topics include:

The following print indexes may also be useful:

Return to top

How to Get Help at the Library

Return to top

Instant Message (IM)
Hours: M-F 10 to 12 and 1 to 5
Screen name: ucbscilibs



Kresge Engineering Library